Biography of CPP
C.P. Padmakumar was born on March 5, 1952.
He graduated from the University of Kerala [BSc Botany] in 1973

He was a painter & designer form the late 1960s. He printed and published the literary magazine "Nithyatha". Nithyatha was one of the pioneering modern literary magazines in Kerala during the early 70's.

His directorial debut film The Track was made in 1977. It was a philosophical film dealt with the despondency of old age. Camera: Sri. Mankada Ravi Varma, Music: Rajiv Tharanath, Editor: Ramesh.
After THE TRACK, he had joined G. Aravindan (Film Director), as Associated Director for Kanchana Sita, Thampu, Kummatty, Esthappan, Chidambaram, Oridathu, Marattam, Unni & Vasthuhara. He was also the Art director for most of his films.

Feature Films
He produced and directed his first feature film, Aparna [Malayalam 1981], Which received the Kerala State film Award for Black & white Cinematography.
Produced and directed the feature film Sammohanam [Malayalam, 1994], and participated in the following film festivals.
  • International Film Festival Of India, Bombay.
  • Fukuoka Asian Film Festival At Fukuoka, Japan [Special mention for artistic excellence].
  • Edinburgh Film Festival, UK [Awarded Best of Fest].
  • Manheim Film Festival, Germany, as official entry in the competitive section Fribourg Film Festival , Switzerland.
  • Bradford Film Festival, UK, as official entry.
  • Invited to the Festival on Rural Cinema, Spain [Certamen European Film Festival].
  • Selected to the Pesaro Film Festival [Italy].
  • Selected to the Shanghai Film Festival [P.R China].
  • Selected to Baharain International Film Festival.

He completed his last feature film Mind that flows, shot in the Himalayas, just before he passed away [yet to be censored]. It is a philosophical film, depicting the relationship between a master and disciple.

Short Films/Documentaries
  • The Track [1977]
  • The day of silence [1986] – A film on leprosy shot at the sanatoriums of Nooranad and Vattappara, Kerala, with an interview of Sri. Baba Amte.
  • Niramizhikal [1989] – A film for India Population project.
  • Independence [1997] – Indian Independence through the eyes of freedom fighters.
  • Gathy [2005] – A short film on two wheeler Road safety precautions.
  • Savari [2006] – On safe Autorikshaw driving.
  • Bakel [2008] – A film for tourism promotion for Bakel Tourism Development Corporation.
  • Take Care [2010] – A short film on safe school bus driving.
  • Food Security [2011] – Documentary for Kudumbasree mission.
Member Jury
  • Kerala state film award, 1998.
  • Award Committee Aravindan Purasakaram.
  • John Abraham Puraskaram, 2001 & 2006.
  • Padmarajan Puraskaram, 1995 & 2000.
  • Indian Panorama, 36th international film festival of India.
  • Kerala state television award, 2007 [Jury Chairman].
  • International Film Festival of Kerala – Documentary and short film selection Committee Chairman, 2008.
  • International Documentary and Short Film Festival of Kerala, Preliminary Selection Committee Chairman, 2009.
  • International Film Festival of Kerala, Member Jury Preliminary Selection Committee, 2010.